Organization Profile - Senate


The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.

Home Page Link

Minister Responsible

Prime minister


The Senate is the Upper Chamber of Parliament, and is composed of 105 members. Senators are appointed by the Governor General for each province and territory on the recommendation of the Prime Minister and hold office until age 75. They examine and revise legislation, investigate national issues, and represent regional, provincial and minority interests. Senators can also introduce their own bills, subject to certain constitutional limitations. No bill can become law until it has been passed by the Senate. Senators also study major social, legal and economic issues through their committee work.

Head Office

Ottawa, Ontario

Appointment Provisions

The Clerk of the Senate is appointed by the Governor in Council and holds office during pleasure.


Clerk of the Senate & Clerk of the Parliaments (GC -6)
Anwar, Shaila
Ottawa, Ontario
Full-Time Appointment
During Pleasure (Interpretation Act)