Organization Profile - International Niagara Committee

International Niagara Committee

The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.

Minister Responsible

Minister of Environment and Climate Change


The International Niagara Committee was set up by the governments of Canada and the United States by an exchange of notes during January 1955, in accordance with provisions of Article VII of the Niagara Treaty of 1950 between the two countries. The committee reports to Foreign Affairs, Trade, and Development Canada and the State Department in the United States.

The primary functions of the committee are as follows:

  • to ascertain, determine, and record the amounts of water available for the purpose of the treaty;
  • to record the amounts of water taken from the Niagara River and Welland Ship Canal for hydro-electric power generation by both countries;
  • to ensure that the amount of water flowing over Niagara Falls meets the requirements specified in the treaty;
  • to investigate, explain, and report on the causes of any treaty violations;
  • to inspect the power plants to ensure accurate determination of water diversions.

Appointment Provisions

The Committee consists of 2 members:

  • one representative from Canada appointed by the Governor in Council
  • one representative from the United States (the Division Engineer with rank of Brig. General of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers serves as the U.S. member).



  • Not Paid (public servant)
  • Part of normal assigned responsibilities of position.


Thompson, Aaron
Hamilton, Ontario
During Pleasure (Interpretation Act)