Organization Profile - House of Commons

House of Commons

The information presented on the following pages is for reference purposes only and should not be considered or relied on as an authoritative or exhaustive source of all Governor in Council appointments or positions.

Home Page Link

Home Page Link

Minister Responsible

Prime Minister


The House of Commons is the popularly elected component of Parliament, consisting of 338 members. Members of the government sit in, and are answerable to the House of Commons. Most major government legislation is introduced in the House. The House of Commons alone is constitutionally authorized to introduce legislation concerned with the raising or spending of funds. The House is also a place where MPs hold the government to account, discuss national issues, and represent constituents’ views.

Head Office

Ottawa, Ontario

Appointment Provisions

Governor in Council appointees are as follows:

  • Clerk of the House;
  • Sergeant-at-Arms; and
  • Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel.

They hold office during pleasure.


Clerk (GC -8)
Janse, Eric
Ottawa, Ontario
Full-Time Appointment
During Pleasure (Interpretation Act)
Sergeant-at-Arms (GC -5)
McDonell, Patrick
Ottawa, Ontario
Full-Time Appointment
During Pleasure (Interpretation Act)
Law Clerk & Parliamentary Counsel (GC -6)
Bédard, Michel
Pontiac, Quebec
Full-Time Appointment
During Pleasure (Interpretation Act)